Zidane: the worst start out of Madrid's last five coaches

In his first 10 games in charge, the team has collected just 23 points - less than: Mourinho (26), Ancelotti (25), Benítez (24) and Pellegrini (24).

Zidane: the worst start out of Madrid's last five coaches
Manuel Queimadelos Alonso Getty Images

Taking the the numbers the team has gained during the first 10 games under each of  Real Madrid's last five coaches, Zinedine Zidane comes off worse than all of the men  who preceded him in the job. Under the Frenchman, Madrid have recorded seven wins, two draws and one defeat -  23 points from a possible 30. Draws on the road at Betis and Málaga together with the defeat in the most recent Madrid derby against Atlético, have blighted Zidane figures during his first couple of months in charge. Deportivo, Sporting, Espanyol, Granada, Athletic, Roma and Levante all buckled under the 'Zidane'.

José Mourinho has the honour of topping the ranking. With the Portuguese manager, Madrid took 26 points from his first 10 games on the bench. His side only dropped points away at Mallorca on his debut and at Levante. The team scored victories against Osasuna, Ajax, Espanyol, Deportivo, AC Milan, Real Sociedad, Auxerre and Málaga were all defeated by Mourinho's Madrid at the start of his tenure.

Carlo Ancelotti's Madrid gained one less point than Mourinho's - in his first 10 games on the Real Madrid bench, the team dropped points in the draw against Villarreal at El Madrigal and the home defeat to Atlético. Ancelotti's Madrid scored 25 points with wins against Betis, Granada, Athletic, Galatasaray, Getafe, Elche, Copenhagen and Levante.

Rafa Benítez and Manuel Pellegrini come next with 24 points during their opening 10 games at the helm - although with contrasting results: The Chilean's Madrid side registered 8 wins (Deportivo, Espanyol, Zurich, Xerez, Villarreal, Tenerife, Olympique Marseille and Valladolid but lost to Sevilla and AC Milan); Benítez's Madrid went unbeaten in his first 10 games in charge - winning seven (Betis, Espanyol, Shakhtar, Granada, Athletic, Malmö and Levante) and drawing three (Sporting, Málaga and Atlético).