Bale goal for Real Madrid controversially ruled out
With the score at Barcelona 1-1 Real Madrid, the Welshman saw an 81st-minute header contentiously disallowed by referee Alejandro Hernández Hernández.
Real Madrid's 2-1 win over Barcelona in Saturday's El Clásico saw Gareth Bale have a late goal controversially ruled out.
With the scores at 1-1 and just under ten minutes remaining, he looked to have given Real the lead when he rose to head Cristiano Ronaldo's left-wing cross into the corner.
But Los Blancos' celebrations were cut short as referee Alejandro Hernández Hernández deemed that Bale had fouled defender Jordi Alba in the process of meeting the delivery.
However, television replays indicated that the 26-year-old had jumped cleanly for the ball, although Jordi Alba, in front of the Real Madrid player at the time, fell over as Bale headed home. Real Madrid fans were furious with decision, with many posting their reactions on Twitter, including one who remarked that Bale's only offence was "being taller" than Alba.
Shortly after the contentious decision, Bale turned provider as Cristiano chested down the Welshman's cross to finish - and on this occasion it did count.
Te recomendamos en English
- LaLiga Barcelona vs Granada: LaLiga Santander: how and where to watch, times, TV, online
- REAL MADRID 2 -1 SEVILLA Lopetegui to Monchi: "This is a disgrace man, always the same"
- REAL MADRID 2-1 SEVILLA Monchi: "If the second goal had been disallowed, I'd have taken the team off"
- Barcelona Setien surprised by Barcelona players' attitude
- PSG Neymar has become the leader PSG hoped for - says Tuchel
- PREMIER LEAGUE Liverpool vs Manchester United: Premier League: How and where to watch