• Amistosos


Bale: "It was a penalty, he took me out"

Gareth Bale claimed a penalty when he was challenged from behind in the area in the third minute of the match, but Italian referee Rocchi refused to point to the spot.

Bale: "It was a penalty, he took me out"

Two minutes after Ronaldo's goal was disallowed for a tight offside decision, another controversial call came from the Italian referee as Bale benefitted from a Wolfsburg defensive mistake. Luiz Gustavo challenged the Welshman from behind, bundling him over.

Bale went down in the area and couldn't believe that referee Rocchi wasn't pointing to the spot when he looked around.

"I went down. I had the ball in front of me and he took me out, if that's outside the area it's a foul, so inside it has to be a penalty. Obviously it's a frustrating result but we get another chance".

"It's not a good result, but we have time to turn it around. What we have to do is make sure we win the return leg by 3 goals".