ATLÉTICO - BARCELONA
Atlético claimed a penalty for a Piqué handball
The Barcelona player fell onto the ball in the area, but referee Rizzoli didn't award a spot-kick. It didn't appear that he deliberately played the ball with his hand.
Atlético demanded a penalty in the 27th minute of this evening's Champions League game against Barcelona, when Piqué fell on the ball in the box after a tussle with Carrasco.
Atleti's Belgian player claimed that the Barça defender had touched the ball with his hand as he fell, and the Calderón backed up his demands for a spot-kick. Italian ref Rizzoli though was having none of it, and waved play on, despite the protestations from the home side.
Replays weren't conclusive, and while photos appeared to show that Piqué's hand did make contact with the ball, there didn't appear to be any deliberate intent on his part to handle it.
Te recomendamos en English
- Entertainment Golden Globes 2021: hosts, presenters and special guests
- CORONAVIRUS STIMULUS CHECKS Third stimulus Check: is it necessary to live in the US to be eligible for payment?
- GOLDEN GLOBE AWARDS Golden Globes 2021: times, TV and how and where to watch online
- US NEWS Third stimulus check updates today: when will Senate vote on it? New $3000 child tax credit: live
- CORONAVIRUS STIMULUS CHECK Third stimulus check: when will the proposal be voted on in the Senate?
- Coronavirus Stimulus Checks Third stimulus check: who voted in favour in the House of Representatives?