Euro 2016

Spaniards want Torres and not Diego Costa at Euro 2016

Saúl, Aduriz and Morata scored high in this survey of 70,000 Spanish football fans, De Gea, Ramos, Iniesta, Koke and Busquets get the most votes.

Spaniards want Torres and not Diego Costa at Euro 2016
Alex Grimm Getty Images

Spaniards want Torres and not Diego Costa at Euro 2016 a survey of Spanish football fans has revealed, hours before Del Bosque releases his Spanish squad for Euro 2016. This will be a list of 30 players, with many still to finish their season, it is not a final or definitive squad, Real Madrid and Atlético will play the Champions League final on May 28, Barcelona defend their Copa crown against Sevilla on May 22, and Sevilla also have the Europa League final against Liverpool to come, and of course Spaniards overseas who have finals to play in Italy, Germany, Portugal and England.

The final 23-man Spain squad that is going for an unprecedented 3rd Euros in-a-row will be made known to the public on May 31. For now, the survey on has served to take the pulse of public opinion, participants picking their 23 players from 64 candidates.

The Spanish public is clear that it wants Fernando Torres and not Diego Costa leading the line. The spectacular end to the season that veteran 'El Niño' has had for Atletico Madrid has convinced fans of la Roja that Torres is better for Spain in France, both on the pitch and in the dressing room.

Torres' permanence at Atletico Madrid is still up in the air, his contract is up in June and the club has yet to clarig¡fy their intentions. Saúl, another Atletico player, whose star is on the rise, is among the chosen ones.

David de Gea is also the clear choice in goal for the reds, receiving more votes than anyone other Spanish footballer, garnering 16,000 more votes than Casillas for the number 1 jersey.

The second most votes went to Sergio Ramos, third Iniesta, fourth Koke and fifth Busquets.

Diego Costa is out of favour among the Spanish public, along with Cazorla, Pedro, Alcácer, Vitolo and Navas.

The 23-man squad as chosen by readers of all over Spain is:


De Gea, Casillas and Sergio Rico.


Juanfran, Carvajal, Piqué, Sergio Ramos, Javi Martínez, Jordi Alba and Azpilicueta.


Busquets, Iniesta, Thiago, Isco, Silva, Mata, Koke, Saúl and Cesc.


Aduriz, Morata, Nolito and Fernando Torres.