Croatian keeper two metres off his line for Ramos penalty
Croatia 2-1 Spain | Croatian keeper Subasic came two metres off his line before the ball was kicked to stop Sergio Ramos' penalty. The referee didn't order a re-take.
Subasic saved Sergio Ramos' 73rd minute penalty in Croatia's 2-1 win over Spain, that saw them top Group D. The keeper made his save after advancing nearly two metres before Ramos had taken his spot kick.
It should be noted some justice was done with the save, as the penalty shouldn't have been awarded in the first place. It was given when Vrsaljko fell onto Silva in the box, knockinh him over, but Aduriz had in fact bumped the Croatian player to make him fall over in the first place.
Laws of the game say Ramos should have re-taken the penalty
According to the Laws of the game the goalkeeper "must remain on his goal line, facing the kicker, between the goalposts until the ball has been kicked". Where he doesn't, the penalty should be re-taken.
Dutch referee Bjorn Kuipers however saw no problem with Subasic's charge off his line. However Twitter disagreed:
That is a joke, Subasic is practically taking the penalty himself!— Ben Wills (@_BenWills) 21 June 2016
So much for the new penalty kick directives. Subasic was as far off his line as any keeper I can ever remember seeing. Ever.— Justin Bryant (@Keepers_Union) 21 June 2016
Bad pen by Ramos. Great tackle Subasic.— Jon Driscoll (@DriscollFC) 21 June 2016
Te recomendamos en English
- US NEWS Fourth stimulus check live updates: child tax credit date, plus up payments in third check, how to claim
- CORONAVIRUS STIMULUS CHECK $600 Golden State Stimulus check: can I get it if I also received the third stimulus check?
- US NEWS Lyrids meteor shower 2021: dates, times and how to see in the US
- CORONAVIRUS STIMULUS CHECK Is it possible to use the money from the stimulus check to pay the rent or the mortgage?
- CORONAVIRUS US Coronavirus US: is a third dose of the Pfizer vaccine necessary?
- US NEWS How to get Covid-19 a vaccine appointment in Florida?