Spain Squad

Lopetegui leaves out Casillas, but calls up Asensio and Costa

There is a first call up for West Ham's Adrian while Pepe Reina is also invited back as Lopetegui named his first Spain squad for games against Belgium and Liechtenstein

Lopetegui leaves out Casillas, but calls up Asensio and Costa

New Spain coach Julien Lopetegui has left Porto goalkeeper Iker Casillas out of his first squad for the friendly against Belgium (1 September) and World Cup qualifier against Liechtenstein (5 September). In his place, there is a first Spain call-up for West Ham keeper Adrian, while Napoli’s Pepe Reina is also invited back in to the fold.

The other big news from Friday’s squad announcement is the inclusion of Brazilian-born forward Diego Costa, who made his debut under Vicente Del Bosque after renationalization but was left out of the former coach’s Euro 2016 set up.

Asensio called up

Real Madrid starlet Marco Asensio has been rewarded for his good form with a call up, while there are also recalls for Manchester United’s Juan Mata and Valencia’s Barça-bound striker Paco Alcácer.


Other than Casillas, the casualties from Spain’s Euro 2016 squad – who exited the competition after a 2-0 loss to Italy in the second round – are Rico, Bellerín, Juanfran, Bruno, Cesc, San José, Aduriz and Pedro.

Barcelona’s Andrés Iniseta, meanwhile, is missing through a knee injury. Real Madrid’s Isco – who is suffering from a twisted ankle – is also not included.

Spain squad for the games against Belgium and Lichenstein

Goalkeepers: David de Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Adrián San Miguel (West Ham).

Defenders: Marc Bartra (Barcelona), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona), César Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Javi Martínez (Bayern).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), David Silva (Manchester City), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern), Saúl Ñíguez (Atlético Madrid), Koke (Atlético Madrid), Juan Mata (Manchester United), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid).

Forwards: Alvaro Morata (Real Madrid), Lucas Vázquez (Real Madrid), Nolito (Manchester City), Paco Alcácer (Valencia), Diego Costa (Chelsea), Vitolo (Sevilla).