Competition
  • Amistosos
  • Clasificación Eurocopa
Amistosos
Paraguay Paraguay PAR

-

Argentina Argentina ARG

-

REAL MADRID

How long is Bale out for and what games will he miss?

The Welshman will undergo surgery on his ankle on 29 November and now faces up to three months out, meaning he'll miss the rest of 2016 and may not be back till February.

How long is Bale out for and what games will he miss?
RAFA APARICIO DIARIO AS

Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale has dislocated both of the peroneal tendons in his right ankle and faces two to three months on the sidelines after the club confirmed he's to undergo surgery.

That means Bale will definitely miss El Clásico away to Barça on 3 December and the FIFA Club World Cup in Japan, as well as the rest of Real Madrid's games in 2016.

Two to three months out

Madrid also have a crucial Champions League meeting with Borussia Dortmund on 7 December which will decide who finishes top of Group F. A few days after that, Madrid fly out to Japan for the 2016 Club World Cup with their first game on 15th in Yokohama. Should Madrid advance at the tournament, the final will be played on 18 December.

Real Madrid's Welsh forward Gareth Bale grimaces as he lies on the pitch during the UEFA Champions League football match Sporting CP vs Real Madrid CF

Best case scenario

The best case scenario for recovery following the type of operation Bale is to undergo is usually a spell of eight weeks, in which case, the Welshman will miss key LaLiga games versus Sevilla (away) and Málaga (home) in January.

Worst case scenario

While the club will be targeting a late January return for Bale, if recuperation takes longer, then he could also miss most of February -- which includes a tricky away trip to Valencia and the 1st Leg of the Champions League Round of 16 (to be played 14,15,21, 22 February).

Real Madrid’s fixture list until end of February

Liga

Saturday November 26: Sporting Gijón (home)

Saturday December 3: Barcelona (away)

Saturday December 10: Deportivo (home)

Saturday January 7: Granada (home)

Sunday  January 15: Sevilla (away)

Sunday January 22: Malaga (home)

Sunday January 29: Real Sociedad (home)

Sunday February 5: Celta Vigo (away) 

Sunday February 12: Osasuna (away)

Wednesday February 15: Valencia (away)

Sunday February 19: Espanyol (home)

Sunday February 26: Villarreal (away)

Champions League

Wednesday December 7: Borussia Dortmund (home)

February 14,15,21, 22: Champions League Round of 16 1st Leg:

Club World Cup (the final is on 18 December)

Thursday 15 December: semi-finals opponents TBA