Real Madrid have two penalty claims denied against Barcelona
Referee Clos Gomez turned down what appeared to be two clear penalties for Real Madrid against Barcelona at the Camp Nou in LaLiga, a foul by Mascherano on Lucas Vázquez and a Rakitic handball.
No penalty for Mascherano's challenge on Vázquez
The first Clásico of the 2016/17 season started with controversy as referee Clos Gómez decided not to award a penalty to Real Madrid when Barcelona's Mascherano brought down Lucas Vázquez in the box after just three minutes of play at the Camp Nou.
After some decent play from Zidane's side, Lucas Vázquez was released into the box. Mascherano covering ran across the Real Madrid player, knocking him over, but failing to touch the ball. Real Madrid protested furiously but Clos Gómez wasn't interested.
Rakitic handball in the box not given
Just after, in the 12th minute, from a Modric corner, Rakitic, close to the line and under pressure from Cristiano Ronaldo, cleared the ball using his arm, but Clos Gómez also decided there was no penalty.
Te recomendamos en English
- BARCELONA Barcelona: Griezmann explains motives for Atlético exit
- Champions League Bayern Munich lose Coman after knee scare in Tottenham encounter
- LALIGA Messi: gap has closed between Barcelona, Madrid and rest of LaLiga
- ARSENAL Ljungberg not getting involved as Arsenal search for new boss
- Club Brugge 1-3 Real Madrid Zidane sees Real Madrid coming into the Clásico in fine form
- CLUB BRUGGE 1-3 REAL MADRID Real Madrid player ratings as Club Brugge beaten in Belgium