Controversy has dogged the introduction of the video assistant referee system at the Club World Cup, but match official Janny Sikazwe showed that there is still plenty left to be addressed in how the old-fashioned man in the middle handles these types of game.
Late on in normal time in the final between Kashima Antlers and Real Madrid in Yokohama, Sergio Ramos clipped an opposition player in midfield and despite protesting his innocence the Real captain appeared resigned to what was coming. However, Sikazwe had different ideas and after a little internal deliberation elected not to book Ramos despite reaching for his top pocket to produce the card, the 37-year-old referee clearly preferring not to issue a second yellow and hand Ramos his marching orders.
Despite the furious protests of the Kashima players, Ramos slunk off in the full knowledge that he should have been sent off, which would have handed Kashima numerical advantage in extra time, when Cristiano Ronaldo struck twice to put the game beyond the J1 League champions.
Ramos with a cynical foul that has to be a yellow, ref goes for his cards, realises Ramos is already booked and bottles it...— AS English (@English_AS) 18 December 2016
Te recomendamos en English
- us election 2020 GSA tells Biden presidential transition can begin
- Former Barcelona and Milan midfielder Halilovic joins Championship side Birmingham City
- ATLÉTICO MADRID Trippier looking solid and settled at Atlético Madrid
- INTER MILAN-REAL MADRID Casemiro back for Inter Milan but Zidane without Benzema
- QATAR 2022 Facts about Al-Bayt stadium, the inaugural venue at Qatar 2022
- CORONAVIRUS STIMULUS Unemployment benefits: why could Biden sacrifice them for a covid-19 stimulus bill?