Coutinho beats Neymar to 2016 Samba Gold award


Coutinho beats Neymar to 2016 Samba Gold award

Coutinho beats Neymar to 2016 Samba Gold award

Phil Noble


The Liverpool player has dethroned the Barcelona man as holder of the Sambafoot prize, given to the top Brazilian in European football.Juventus-Barcelona live online: ICC 2017

Liverpool vs Swansea City

Neymar has lost out to Philippe Coutinho in the race for the 2016 Samba Gold prize, which is awarded to the year's best Brazilian player in European club football.

Coutinho tops vote ahead of Barcelona ace

Coutinho has denied Neymar a third straight Samba Gold award.

Liverpool star Coutinho received 32.13% of the votes cast for the accolade - whose winner is chosen in a combined poll of journalists, current and former professionals, and fans - with Barcelona's Neymar trailing on 27.88%.

Casemiro takes third

Real Madrid midfielder Casemiro came third in the ballot with 13.35%, one place in front of Bernabéu colleague Marcelo, who picked up 6.81%.

Neymar had lifted the Samba Gold trophy - which was established by the Brazilian football website in 2008 - in each of the past two years.

Samba Gold winners:

-2008 Kaká (AC Milan)

-2009 Luis Fabiano (Sevilla)

-2010 Maicon (Inter Milan)

-2011 Thiago Silva (AC Milan)

-2012 Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain)

-2013 Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain)

-2014 Neymar (Barcelona)

-2015 Neymar (Barcelona)

-2016 Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)


Normas Show