• Amistosos
  • Clasificación Eurocopa
  • Final ATP World Tour

Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar named as FIFA The Best finalists


Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar named as FIFA The Best finalists

Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar named as FIFA The Best finalists

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo, Barcelona's Lionel Messi and PSG's Neymar are the final nominees for The Best FIFA Men's Player 2017.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar are the three finalists for The Best FIFA Men's Player 2017, it was announced on Friday afternoon.

Cristiano the favourite to retain The Best award

Cristiano, who won the inaugural men's award last year, is the favourite after leading Real Madrid to a LaLiga and Champions League double last season.

Despite outscoring Ronaldo last term - and reaching 500 goals for Barça in April - Messi appears to be behind the Portuguese in the running for the prize, with the Blaugrana's 2016/17 trophy haul limited to a Copa del Rey.

Neymar, who left Barça for Paris Saint-Germain for a world-record 222m euros this summer, makes his first appearance among the finalists, replacing Atlético Madrid's Antoine Griezmann on the podium.

Lloyd, Martens and Castellanos up for women's prize

Meanwhile, holder Carli Lloyd of the USA is joined by the Netherlands' Lieke Martens and Venzuelan Deyna Castellanos in the final three for the 2017 The Best FIFA Women's Player award.

Trophies to be handed out in London in October

The Best awards are a revival of the old FIFA World Player of the Year, which was combined with France Football magazine's Ballon d'Or for six years before the collaboration ended in 2016.

The accolades are voted for by national coaches and captains, selected media and fans, with the winners to be announced at a ceremony in London on 23 October.


Normas Show