DORTMUND-REAL MADRID

Sergio Ramos penalty missed by referee against Borussia Dortmund

Sergio Ramos penalty missed by referee against Borussia Dortmund


Real Madrid - Al Ain live online: Club World Cup final 2018

Borussia Dortmund demanded a penalty from referee Kuipers for a handball by Sergio Ramos in the 13th minute of their Champions League game against Real Madrid, with the scoreboard still at 0-0.

Ramos handball should have been a penalty

The incident started with a move down the right and a cross into the middle that reached the back post of Keylor Navas' goal. Philipp, free of a marker, had a pop and Keylor Navas cleared from his line. The rebound hit Sergio Ramos on the hands and Isco cleared behind for a corner, gratefully, as such actions always are. 

Ramos' handball from Navas rebound

Borussia Dortmund howled for a penalty, and AS resident referee Iturralde González, says they should have had one. "If the rebound came off Ramos himself, its not a penalty because its entirely involuntary, but if the defender has lifted his hands and the ball comes off Keylor, then it is a penalty". Ref Iturralde also pointed out that Ramos had raised his hands into a "significant position" in the play.