Mbappé wins the Golden Boy award with record numbers of votes

The French PSG striker won 291 of a possible 300 votes having led Monaco to a Ligue 1 title and a semi-final in the Champions League.

Italian publication Tuttosport's annual award for the best under-21 player has a winner by unanimous decision. This year's award announcement just happens to coincide with The Best and Kylian Mbappé has won it with a record number of votes. He takes over the title of Golden Boy from Renato Sanches, who won the award last year.

The PSG playerwas one of the great revelations last year as he helped drive Monaco to a Champions League semi-final and a Ligue 1 title. His phenomenal season helped him register the most votes in the history of the award with 291 of 300 in his favour. 

Portada del diario italiano Tuttosport del día 23 de octubre de 2017.

Portada del diario italiano Tuttosport del día 23 de octubre de 2017.

In second, and a distant second at that, is another French wonderkid, who now plays for Barcelona in Ousmane Dembelé followed by Marcus Rashford of Manchester United. Other notable names on the list that followed Mbappé's name were AC Milan's Gianluigi Donnarumma, Real Madrid's Theo Hernandez and Manchester City's Gabriel Jesus.

There were four Spanish representatives on the list in Adrián Marín (Villarreal), Pol Lirola (Sassuolo), Mikel Oyarzábal (Real Sociedad) and Javier Ontiveros (Malaga).

Finalistas al Golden Boy 2017

Jugador Club actual (anterior)
Gianluigi Donnarumma Milán
Alban Lafont Toulouse
Pol Lirola Sassuolo
Adrián Marín Villarreal (Leganés)
Malang Sarr Niza
Matthijs de Ligt Ajax
Dayot Upamecano Leipzig
Theo Hernández Real Madrid
Amadou Diawara Nápoles
Federico Chiesa Fiorentina
Youri Tielemans Mónaco (Anderlecht)
Benjamin Henrichs Bayer Leverkusen
Rubén Neves Wolverhampton (Porto)
Kai Havertz Bayer Leverkusen
Mikel Oyarzábal Real Sociedad
Javier Ontiveros Málaga
Tom Davies Everton
Nicolo Barella Cagliari
Marcus Rashford Manchester United
Kasper Dolberg Ajax
Osumane Dembelé FC Barcelona (Borussia Dortmund)
Christian Pulisic Borussia Dortmund
Gabriel Jesús Manchester City
Kylian Mbappé PSG (Mónaco)