Girona's players appealed for the penalty six minutes into this afternoon's game when the ball struck Karim Benzema's arm inside the Real Madrid penalty area from a corner-kick. Those appeals fell on deaf ears and the ref waved.
Ball to hand, no penalty
Machín's players waved to Hernández Hernández in vain. Replays showed that Benzema did not voluntarily use his arm and didn't have time to pull it away. According to former match official and refereeing consultant for AS and La SER's Carrusel Deportivo Iturralde González, it wasn't handball: "The ball struck him on his forearm, no penalty".
Six minutes later, the game changed in two swift moves - Girona it the post and Madrid broke with Isco racing onto a rebound to slot in the opening goal.