Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas pulled off an important save following the penalty decision given against him in the latter stages of the game against Celta Vigo. That spot kick save that came in the final 20 minutes when Madrid were leading 1-2 came with controversy.
Penalty rules not being followed
Upon first viewing, the save was impressive. It remained so from the replays, as Iago Aspas had struck the ball well and put it towards the goalkeeper's right hand post, however was tinged with question marks on whether the movement by the Costa Rican was legal or not. As more views of the incident were shown, it became clearer that Navas had moved off his line before the striker had played the ball, thus narrowing the angle.
Keylor almost 50% penalty success
This premature encroachment is not allowed in the rules of the game and the penalty should have been retaken. AS' resident referee had his own opinion on the decision but it was on social media that many fans got involved. The fact that Keylor is statistically the number one penalty saver in LaLiga at the moment, with an incredible 45% success rate (9/20), wasn't lost on those that believe his 'style' has been a big factor in this.