Trending topics Más temas
You're reading

France Foootball choose best 'trident' in European Cup ever


France Foootball choose best 'trident' in European Cup ever

Real Madrid's Bale, Benzema and Cristiano or Di Stéfano, Puskas and Gento, Barça's MSN, Man Utd, Juve, Ajax, Bayern... who came out top of the trios?

The Champions League is back and what better time to look at some of the best attacking forces this tournament, including in its previous guise of the European Cup, has seen. France Football delved into their big bag of knowledge on the history of the competition and pulled out their top ten attacking trios to have graced it, and won it.

Ver galería

Grandes tridentes de la historia del fútbol

Gunnar Gren, Gunnar Nordahl y Nils Liedholm conformaron un trío formidable de delanteros que jugaron para la selección de fútbol de Suecia y para el A. C. Milan durante la década de 1950. Fueron conocidos como GRE-NO-LI

Grandes tridentes de la historia del fútbol

Alfredo Di Stefano, Francisco Gento y Ferenc Puskas eran el corazón del equipo más victorioso en la historia europea de 1955 y 1960

Grandes tridentes de la historia del fútbol

Rijkaard, Van Basten y Gullit tridente del Milan en 1989

Grandes tridentes de la historia del fútbol

En el Nápoles de Diego Maradona, Bruno Giordano y Careca eran la clave del mayor período de éxito del club hasta el momento. Eran conocidos como 'Ma-Gi-Ca', queriendo decir 'la Magia' en italiano.

1 / 4

Two entries for Real Madrid and Barça

Real Madrid have won Europe's showpiece club competition more than any other club and for this reason it is not surprising that there is more than one entry in this list. Those entries include the current trident of Bale, Benzema and Cristiano - key elements of the back-to-back wins under Zinedine Zidane, and also the legendary Di Stéfano, Puskas and Gento. That frontline, which will long be remembered for Real Madrid's 1960 victory of 3-7 in Glasgow over Eintracht Frankfurt - considered by many as the greatest final in history - took top spot in the list for the French magazine.

UEFA Champions League Final - Olympiastadion, Berlin, Germany - 6/6/15 | Barcelona's Luis Suarez, Lionel Messi and Neymar

The second trio on the list was the MSN of Barcelona. Messi, Suárez and Neymar took the 2015 Champions League by storm, the fifth in the club's history. Following them was Alex Ferguson's potent three of Cristiano-Rooney-Tévez from all-conquering 2008 Manchester United side.

10 best attacking trios to have won the European Cup according to 'France Football'

Trident Team Win year
1 Di Stéfano-Puskas-Gento Real Madrid 1960
2 Messi-Neymar-Suárez Barcelona 2015
3 Cristiano-Rooney-Tévez Manchester United 2008
4 Cruyff-Keizer-Rep Ajax 1973
5 Cristiano-Benzema-Bale Real Madrid 2014 and 2016
6 Messi-Henry-Etoo Barcelona 2009
7 Müller-Hoeness-Rummenigge Bayern Munich 1976
8 Del Piero-Vialli-Ravanelli Juventus 1996
9 Eusebio-José Aguas-José Augusto Benfica 1962
10 Völler-Boksic-Pelé Marseille 1993


Normas Show