Rio Ferdinand has suggested that Cristiano Ronaldo may have deliberately volleyed in his equalising penalty in Real Madrid's Champions League victory over Paris Saint-Germain.
Ferdinand: "Cristiano used to do that in training"
Television replays showed the ball appearing to bounce slightly from the impact of the Portugal captain planting his left foot next to the spot before firing past goalkeeper Alphonse Areola with his right.
And Ferdinand, who played with Cristiano at Manchester United, claimed on BT Sport that this could have been an intentional move by the 33-year-old - and that he had seen him practise it during their time together at Old Trafford.
"He used to do that in training, you know," Ferdinand insisted. "I swear, crazy."
Wow!!! Just watch this Cristiano #Ronaldo penalty kick.. Supernatural powers. The penalty he took, The ball Bounced up before he kicked it.— Football Addict (@FootballAdictt) 15 de febrero de 2018
Is it really possible?#CR7 #RMPSG #RealMadrid#RealMadridPSG #UCL pic.twitter.com/u8Jk8X4rX1
Penalty should have been retaken, says former ref
As Cristiano only seems to connect with the ball with his right foot, such a spot-kick would not count as a double-touch, which is against the laws of the game.
However, former referee Graham Poll has revealed that it should not have stood as the ball is not allowed to be in motion when a penalty is struck.
"The ball must be stationary," Poll explained to the Daily Mail. "So had the referee spotted it, the kick would have been retaken."
Te recomendamos en English
- Coronavirus Coronavirus USA live updates: news, cases, deaths and stimulus checks, today
- CORONAVIRUS $400 unemployment benefits boost: why could it be delayed?
- coronavirus Over 27,000 health workers infected with Covid-19 in South Africa
- Champions League Barcelona vs Bayern Munich Preview
- USMNT Adams becomes first US men's player to score in Champions League quarter final or later
- Champions League Bayern Munich are playing Barcelona, not just Messi - Flick