Barcelona concede a penalty for the first time in two years

LAS PALMAS - BARCELONA

Barcelona concede a penalty for the first time in two years

Barcelona concede a penalty for the first time in two years

Twitter

Referee Mateu Lahoz awarded a spot kick in the 46th minute on Gran Canaria. Barça last conceded a penalty in a match against Celta in 2016.

Barcelona conceded a penalty for the first time in over two years in the LaLiga match against Las Palmas on Thursday evening.

Barcelona penalised for handball

In the 46th minute, with Barcelona leading 0-1 courtesy of a stunning free-kick from Lionel Messi, Las Palmas took a corner. Lucas Digne handled the ball at the far post while Sergi Roberto grappled with Matías Aguirregaray at the near post. It is not clear which offence the referee - Mateu Lahoz - penalised, but he pointed to the spot. 

The last time Barcelona conceded a penalty in LaLiga was on February 14th 2016 in a match against Celta Vigo.

Calleri found the top corner

To place that time frame in context, Barcelona 'keeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen had not previously faced a penalty while playing for the club. 

Jonathan Calleri swept the spot kick in to the top corner, to level the scores at 1-1. 

0 Comments

Normas Show