Bengaluru FC lifts inaugural Indian Super Cup


Bengaluru FC lifts inaugural Indian Super Cup

Bengaluru FC win the inaugural Indian Super Cup

The Indian Super League runners-up defeated East Bengal 4-1 to lift the inaugural country’s Super Cup.

Bengaluru FC won the inaugural Indian Super Cup by defeating East Bengal 4-1 at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha on Friday. This is the fifth title BFC has won since it was set up four years ago.

Last month, the JSW Group-owned side ended as runners-up to Chennaiyin FC in the Indian Super League (ISL).

Bengaluru come from behind

Having previously beaten Kolkata giants Mohun Bagan 4-2 in the semifinal, Bengaluru were the favorites to lift the Super Cup.

In the final, East Bengal’s red-and-gold brigade took the lead in the 28th minute through Ansumana Kromah.

An accurate header by Rahul Bheke levelled the score five minutes before the half-time whistle.

However, in injury time, East Bengal’s Samid Ali Mallick was sent off for a dangerous tackle on Subhasis Bose, leaving the Kolkata side with ten men.

After the break Bengaluru were on top, playing aggressively and effectively stopping East Bengal’s attacks.

In the 68th minute, the ball hit the extended arm of Gurwinder Singh inside the box, with BFC being awarded a penalty. Captain Chhetri made no mistake, to give his side a 2-1 lead.

A couple of minutes later, as the red-and-gold defense caved in, the Venezuelan striker Miku curled the ball into the top corner to grab the third goal for the Blues.

In the dying minutes, Chhetri scored a brilliant header, putting the last nail into East Bengal’s coffin.

Bengaluru’s captain, Chhetri was awarded man of the match for his double strike, while his teammate Miku was given the player of the tournament award.




Normas Show