Trending topics Más temas


Bayern denied two penalties against Real Madrid at Bernabéu

Marcelo handled Joshua Kimmich's cross and Sergio Ramos felled Lewandowski in the box. AS's resident referee Iturralde González believes both were penalties.
Cruz Azul vs America: Liga MX, live online

Bayern denied two penalties against Real Madrid at Bernabéu

Bayern Munich should have been given two penalties in the Champions League semi-final at the Bernabéu, according to AS's resident referee Iturralde González. The first incident was a handball by Marcelo, and the second a tackle by Sergio Ramos on Robert Lewandowski.

Marcelo gets lucky

The first incident happened on the brink of half time, with the score at 1-1. Joshua Kimmich opened the scoring after three minutes before Karim Benzema equalised with a well-placed header. 

It was Kimmich who forced Marcelo to commit the handball with a cross delivered from the right flank. The contact was right on the edge of the box, leading to discussion as to whether it was a free-kick or a penalty.

Joshua Kimmich appeals the decision.

The Turkish referee, Cüneyt Çakır, decided to award a corner, causing much irritation among the Bayern ranks. Yet according to Iturralde González, AS's resident referee, Marcelo did handle the ball inside the box and the referee should therefore have awarded Bayern a penalty.

Ramos and Lewandowski clash

After 52 minutes Sergio Ramos and Robert Lewandowski came together in the Bayern box and, according to González, the visitors should have been awarded another spot-kick.