WORLD CUP 2018

World Cup: France-Australia sees first VAR penalty award at finals

VAR used to award penalty at World Cup finals for first time

Kevin C. Cox

Getty Images

Referee Andrés Cunha made history in France's match against Australia when he used the video assistant referee system to award a spot-kick.

France's Group C victory over Australia in Kazan witnessed a piece of history as the video assistant referee (VAR) system was used to award a penalty for the first time at a World Cup.

Referee Cunha gives penalty after VAR consultation

Referee Andrés Cunha initially waved away Les Bleus' penalty appeals when Antoine Griezmann went down in the box under Josh Risdon's 55th-minute challenge.

Griezmann goes down under Risdon's challenge.

But after having another look at the incident on his pitch-side monitor, the Uruguayan opted to point to the spot, with Griezmann converting to put France ahead.

Griezmann scores from 12 yards after Cunha's VAR penalty award.

Moments later, Australia were given a penalty of their own - this time without the need for VAR - and Mile Jedinak beat goalkeeper Hugo Lloris from 12 yards to bring the Socceroos level.

Technology also used for France's second goal

A high-tec refereeing tool was also used when France then grabbed a winner with ten minutes left, as Paul Pogba's effort hit the underside of the crossbar and, via goal-line technology, was correctly deemed to have gone in.

0 Comments

Normas Show