Germany selected as host nation for 2024 European Championship

Germany selected as host nation for 2024 European Championship

The UEFA Executive Committee was swayed by the German bid and chose the 2006 World Cup hosts over Turkey for the 2024 tournament.

Germany will host Euro 2024 after seeing off a rival bid from Turkey, UEFA has confirmed.

It will be the first major international tournament staged in the country since the 2006 World Cup.

Germany are three-time European champions, having last triumphed at Euro 96.

Former Bayern Munich and Germany captain Philipp Lahm served as an ambassador for the bid, which will see games hosted in 10 cities.

Bayern's Allianz Arena, Borussia Dortmund's Westfalenstadion and Berlin's Olympiastadion are all included, while there will also be matches staged in Gelsenkirchen, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Dusseldorf, Cologne, Leipzig and Frankfurt.

Portugal are the reigning European champions after they beat hosts France in extra time at the final of Euro 2016.

The 2024 edition returns to the traditional arrangement of a single host nation, with Euro 2020 set to take place in 12 cities spread across the continent to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the continental tournament.

European Championship host nations and winners

Year Host Champions
2016 France Portugal
2012 Poland / Ukraine Spain
2008 Austria / Switzerland Spain
2004 Portugal Greece
2000 Netherlands / Belgium France
1996 England Germany
1992 Sweden Denmark
1988 West Germany Netherlands
1984 France France
1980 Italy West Germany
1976 Yugoslavia Czechoslovakia
1972 Belgium West Germany
1968 Italy Italy
1964 Spain Spain
1960 France USSR


Normas Show