Competition
  • LaLiga SmartBank
LaLiga SmartBank

COPA LIBERTADORES | RIVER-BOCA

River - Boca: Correct call for indirect free-kick inside the area - not a penalty

River - Boca: Correct call for indirect free-kick inside the area - not a penalty

Rodrigo Jimenez

EFE

Jonatan Maidana raised his foot high to block Nahitan Nández's effort on 77 minutes with the score at 1-1. Referee Andrés Cunha awarded a free-kick inside the penalty area.

There were several moments of drama during tonight's Copa Liberadores final return leg at the Bernabéu. Boca Juniors had a penalty appeal turned down late in the game when Jonatan Maidana raised his foot high to block Nahitan Nández's effort on 77 minutes with the score at 1-1.

Boca's protests fell on deaf ears as referee Andrés Cunha awarded a indirect free-kick inside the penalty area. According to the rulebook, he was right to do so as while Nández's action was considered to be an infringement, it was not a penalty as no contact was made.

Law 12.2: Infringement without contact

Under the current Laws of the Game, an indirect free-kick is awarded to the opposing team if, in the opinion of the referee, a player  plays in a dangerous manner or impedes the progress of an opponent. The indirect free kick is taken from the place where the offence occurred

Dangerous play is defined as follows:  "Playing in a dangerous manner is any action that, while trying to play the ball, threatens injury to someone (including the player themself ) and includes preventing a nearby opponent from playing the ball for fear of injury."

 

 

0 Comments

Normas Show