Competition
  • Champions League
  • LaLiga SmartBank

ATLÉTICO-REAL MADRID

Iturralde on Vinicius penalty: "If VAR isn't clear, the ref must make the decision"

Iturralde on Vinicius penalty: "If VAR isn't clear, the ref must make the decision"

The former referee aired his opinion on the controversial penalty awarded to Real Madrid when Giménez brought down Vinicius. Sergio Ramos converted from the spot.

Iturralde González explained to Carrusel Deportivo what he made of the controversial penalty awarded to Real Madrid in the first half of this afternoon's Madrid derby at the Wanda Metropolitano. Match official Juan Martínez Munera pointed to the spot when Giménez brought Vinicius down inside the area in the 40th minute of the match. Television replays were inconclusive on whether the foul occured inside or outside of the area, or whether it was the Atlético defender's second contact which brought Vinicius down.

832
847
890
Ver galería

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

1 / 3

"Vinicius breaks into the box and is brought down by Giménez, who was booked. The move provoked doubts as to whether the foul took place inside the area or just outside it. In these circumstances, VAR reviews the move in slow motion, but because it's an objective decision, the referee won't consult the television replays. If it's not clear on VAR, it's always down to the referee to make his own decision". The penalty was awarded and converted by Sergio Ramos to put the visitors 1-2 ahead.