Morata scored a header but it was ruled out for a push on Chellini. According to Iturralde González, it was legal. In Giménez's there could have been a foul on Bonucci.
German match official Feliz Zwayer disallowed Álvaro Morata's goal on 69 minutes, with the score at 0-0, because he felt the striker pushed Chiellini moments before he headed the ball past Szczesny. At first, the goal seemed to be given and appeared on the scoreboard but after consulting VAR and reviewing the move on the pitchside monitors, the goal was ruled out.
For former Spanish referee Iturralde González, the goal should have stood es gol legal: "It's a goal, there is no foul. What the ref probably blew for wasn't a push, but for Morata's left foot making contact with Chiellini which he might have felt tripped the defender, but for me, it's a goal. He might have looked at it from one angle and made his decision. German referees are the ones who are having the most problems interpreting the protocol relating to VAR", he explained.
Nine minutes after Morata had his goal ruled out, Giménez oput Atleti ahead although in the build-up Juventus claimed the player fouled Bonucci: “In this case, it's a clearer foul, but then it's a question of criteria and that's a very grey area - it's not black and white. It depends on how the ref sees it”, Iturralde González, who is a consulatnmt for AS and Carrusel, added.