Competition
  • International Champions Cup
  • Tour Francia
Tour Francia
Limoux - Foix Prat d'Albis
Participant Time
Simon Yates 03:47:04
Thibaut Pinot +00:00:32
Mikel Landa +00:00:32

AFCON 2019

African Cup of Nations Quarter Finals set: Fixtures, Dates, Times, TV, Online

With heavywieghts Cameroon, Ghana and hosts Egypt now gone, the quater finals of AFCON 2019 have been set and kick off on Wednesday with the meeting of Senegal and Benin.

African Cup of Nations Quarter Final Set: Fixtures, Dates, Times, TV, Online
FADEL SENNA AFP

Twenty four teams have been whittled down to eight, as the four fixtures for the 2019 African Cup of Nations quarter finals have been set, kicking off on Wednesday with the meeting of Senegal and Benin.

The competition has so far drawn up a few upsets, with three heavyweights falling at the last 16 stage – defending champions Cameroon, who lost 3-2 to Nigeria; hosts Egypt, who were beaten by a South African lone goal; and Ghana, who suffered a shock defeat at the hands of Tunisia in a dramatic clash that went all the way to penalties on Monday night.

That was one of three last-16 fixtures to go all the way to penalties: Morocco and Benin also couldn’t be separated over 120 minutes with the score at 1-1, with the latter booking their place in the quarters after winning the shootout 4-1. Meanwhile Madagascar beat DR Congo in a spot-kick stand-off following a 2-2 draw after two hours of play.

In the other three Round-of-16 clashes: Senegal saw off Uganda with a single goal; one goal was also enough for Ivory Coast against Mali, while Algeria enjoyed the stage’s most emphatic victory, beating Guinea 3-0.

Madagascar's Ibrahim Amada celebrates scoring their first goal against DR Congo.

African Cup of Nations 2019 Quarter Final Fixtures

Senegal v Benin

With Liverpool striker Sadio Mane leading the charge, Senegal will be favourites to advance from this fixture, which kicks at the 30 June Stadium in Cairo on Wednesday (10 July) at 18:00 CEST (17:00 in the UK; 12:00 in New York; 09:00 in Los Angeles).

Find out when and where to watch the game wherever you are in the world.

Nigeria v South Africa

Nigeria will be wary of South Africa after their dismantling of host’s Egypt in what is perhaps the most attractive fixture of the stage. The game gets underway on Wednesday (10 July) at the Cairo International Stadium, kicking off at 21:00 CEST (20:00 in the UK; 15:00 in New York; 12:00 in Los Angeles). Follow all the action live with Robbie.

Find out when and where to watch the game wherever you are in the world.

Nigeria's forward Odion Ighalo celebrates his second goal during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) Round of 16 football match between Nigeria and Cameroon.

Ivory Coast v Algeria

Having beaten Guinea 3-0, Algeria, who have a match winner in Manchester City winger Riyad Mahrez, are tipped by the bookmakers to see off Ivory Coast on Thursday (11 June). The match kicks off at the New Suez Stadium at 18:00 CEST (17:00 in the UK; 12:00 in New York; 09:00 in Los Angeles)

Find out when and where to watch the game wherever you are in the world.

Madagascar v Tunisia

Tunisia recorded their first ever AFCON victory over Ghana on Monday night and will fancy themselves to oversee Madagascar to book their place in the semi-finals. The game will be played on Thursday (11 June) at the Al-Salam Stadium in Cairo, kicking off at 21:00 CEST (20:00 in the UK; 15:00 in New York; 12:00 in Los Angeles).

Find out when and where to watch the game wherever you are in the world.