CORONAVIRUS

Coronavirus: total USA cases and deaths, real-time map, 29 March

Updates on the total number of registered Covid-19 cases, deaths and discharged patients, both in the United States and throughout the world.

Coronavirus: total USA cases and deaths, real-time map, 29 March
CHRISSA MAURY EFE

Confirmed US coronavirus cases

As of 23:00 CEST on Sunday, 29 March (18:00 EDT, 15:00 PDT), there were a total of 139,099 confirmed cases of coronavirus in the US, with 2,438 deaths. 4,435 people in the country have officially recovered after contracting Covid-19.

Worldwide real-time coronavirus map

Click here if the map doesn't automatically appear. (Map created and hosted by Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering, our thanks to them.)

US coronavirus news

After American president Donald Trump on Saturday opted against quarantining New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, the US' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has urged residents of the tri-state area - the nation's worst-hit region - against all but essential travel.

On Sunday the mayor of New York, Bill de Blasio, said that by 5 April the city will run out of critical medical supplies, including ventilators.

Worldwide coronavirus cases

The total number of confirmed coronavirus cases worldwide at the above time stood at 717,847. In all, 33,876 people have died from Covid-19, while 150,893 have recovered from the disease.

Live coverage of the coronavirus pandemic

You can follow the latest developments in the coronavirus crisis with our daily live blog.