Which countries have yet to confirm coronavirus cases?

The global Covid-19 pandemic has impacted on daily lives in almost every corner of the planet. There are however a handful of nations where positive cases of the virus have yet to be confirmed.

Which countries have yet to confirm coronavirus cases?

The Covid-19 virus has swept through the planet and has now affected more than 1.3 million people with the global death toll passing the 75,000 mark on 7 April. The virus makes no distinction in colour, class or creed but there are still a few nations on the planet where positive Covid-19 cases have yet to be confirmed. Montenegro was the last European state to confirm a positive case with the government confirming their first case on March 17th.

Countries with no confirmed cases (as of 7 April)


Comoros, this archipelago to the west of Madagascar has a population of just over 1 million people and is yet to register a positive case. Despite a state of emergency being declared in the African nation on March 25 as a precautionary measure, Lesotho has also not confirmed any positive cases. The island nation of Sao Tome and Principe confirmed its first case of coronavirus on 6 April.


North Korea has yet to confirm a positive case of Covid-19 among it's population of over 25 million people. The 'self-reliant' socialist state has employed a strict border access policy in the past and has banned all foreign visitors as a preventative measure against the spread of virus.

Sin tituloA health worker takes the temperature of a woman amid concerns over the COVID-19 coronavirus, at an entrance of the Pyongchon District People's Hospital in Pyongyang on April 1, 2020. (Photo by KIM Won Jin / AFP)

Turkmenistan is another Asian nation with a reputation for censorship of information and have stated to foreign media that the virus has yet to affect the nation.

Central Asian Tajikistan and war torn Yemen are the other countries in Asia to have yet to confirm any coronavirus cases.


Many of the island nations in the South Pacific including, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Nauru, Marshall Islands, Vanuatu, Kiribati and Tonga have yet to confirm any cases of positive Covid-19 cases among their respective citizens.

*Censorship and transparency are potential motives in certain nations' communication policies.

 Live coverage of the coronavirus crisis

You can stay up-to-date with the latest developments in the coronavirus pandemic by following our daily live blog.