George Floyd

George Floyd protests: which states are controlled by the Democrats?

Currently in the US, the Republican party has full control of the legislative and executive branch in 22 states with the Democrats enjoying the same power in 15 states.

George Floyd protests: which states are controlled by the Democrats?
Jeenah Moon REUTERS

Minnesota is the only current US state with a split control of state legislature with a divided government in place and no political party holds a state government trifecta. A trifecta exists when one political party simultaneously holds the governor’s office and majorities in both state legislative chambers. As of June 3, 2020, there are 21 Republican trifectas, 15 Democratic trifectas, and 14 divided governments where neither party holds trifecta control.

The state came to global prominence at the end of May when George Floyd, a 46-year-old black man, died on Monday 25 May in the city of Minneapolis after pleading for help as police officer Derek Chauvin knelt on his neck to pin him down. Floyd was unarmed and already handcuffed. He was pronounced dead at a nearby hospital.

1237757975BARCELONA, SPAIN - MAY 31: Graffiti in memory of George Floyd by Italian street artist TVBoy on May 31, 2020 in Barcelona, Spain. The death of an African-American man, George Floyd, at the hands of police in Minneapolis has sparked violent protests across the USA.

Footage shot by a bystander shows Chauvin kneeling on Floyd’s neck, as he pleads that he cannot breath, until he slowly stops talking and moving. 'I CAN'T BREATHE' has become a slogan for the protests across America.

George Floyd protests

Many of the protests resulting from Floyd's death and ongoing police brutality have been conducted in Democrat held states with the opposition party currently totally controlling 15 states and these include the densely populated cities of New York and Los Angeles.

At present the Democratic party control the states of: Washington State, Oregon, Nevada, California, Colorado, New Mexico, Illinois, Virginia, Maine, New York, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey, Delaware and Hawaii.

Sin tituloProtesters march through Hollywood after curfew during a demonstration over the death of George Floyd while in Minneapolis Police custody, in Los Angeles, California, June 2, 2020. - Anti-racism protests have put several US cities under curfew to suppress rioting, following the death of George Floyd in police custody. (Photo by Kyle Grillot / AFP)

Whilst George Floyd protests have been conducted in all major U.S. cities, they have not been exclusively confined to states controlled by the Democratic party with National Guard troops having being deployed in the traditionally Republican State of Texas with major disturbances witnessed in Salt Lake City.

George Floyd protests: live coverage

You can follow live coverage of the protests over the killing of George Floyd here.