CHAMPIONS LEAGUE

Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich: how and where to watch - times, TV...

All the information you need on how and where to watch Olympique Lyon face Bayern Munich in Wednesday’s Champions League semi-final in Lisbon.

Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich: how and where to watch - times, TV...

Lyon vs Bayern Munich live

Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich: Champions League preview

Lyon’s Champions League campaign began slowly but has picked up momentum on their route to the second semi-final appearance in their history. The French side needed a late Memphis Depay equaliser to sneak through Group G behind fellow semi-finalists RB Leipzig and few gave them any hope in the knock-out stages. But a triumph on away goals over Juventus saw them reach the quarter finals for the first time since 2010, before a 3-1 win over Manchester City gave this energetic young team a spot in the final four.

They will meet a Bayern Munich side who have looked like Europe’s best for much of the 2019/20 campaign and they have dominated the Champions League so far. They topped their group without dropping a point before dispatching Chelsea 7-1 on aggregate in the last-16, with the irrepressible Robert Lewandowski involved in every goal. But most impressive of all was their dismantling of Lionel Messi’s Barcelona with an astonishing 2-8 victory over the five-time European champions. In doing so, they became the first team in Champions League history to score eight goals in a Champions League knock-out tie and the first to put eight past Barcelona since 1946.

David vs Goliath

Lyon have already eliminated the previous season’s Italian and English Champions in their run to the semi-final but Bayern will be a different proposition. They have already secured a domestic double and are unbeaten in their last 28 matches in all competitions, winning 27 of them. Hansi Flick has won 31 of his 34 games in charge and they are scoring an average of 3.3 goals per game under his leadership. In Robert Lewandowski they have the Champions League’s leading goal-scorer (14) and their total of 39 goals is comfortably clear of second-placed Paris Saint-Germain’s 22.

It is a daunting task for the team who finished seventh in Ligue 1 but they will take confidence from their form against the top sides in recent months. As well as eliminating Juventus and Manchester City they took PSG to penalties in the Coupe de France final, keeping a clean sheet against the French champions. As they showed against City, Lyon can pose a considerable threat on the break with Depay, Houssem Aouar and Moussa Dembélé. Aouar’s five assists puts him level with Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappé and Hakim Ziyech at the top of this season’s standings.

What time does Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich kick off?

The Champions League semi-final tie between Olympique Lyon and Bayern Munich will kick off at Estádio José Alvalade, Lisbon, Portugal on Wednesday 19 August 2020 at the local time of 20:00 (WEST).

Sin titulo

That's 21:00 in Spain, 20:00 in London, 15:00 in New York, 12:00 in Los Angeles and 22:00 in Qatar.

Find out what time Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich kicks off wherever you are in the world

How can I watch Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich?

In Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Qatar the following television channels and online services will be broadcasting Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich:

Spain: Movistar Liga de Campeones, Movistar+, Mitele Plus

UK: BT Sport 1, BTSport.com, BT Sport Ultimate, BT Sport Extra, BT Sport App

USA: ZonaFutbol, TUDN App, CBS All Access, Univision, TUDN USA, TUDNxtra, Univision NOW, TUDN.com

Qatar: beIN SPORTS CONNECT, beIN Sports HD 1

If you’re elsewhere in the world you can find out who will be broadcasting Olympique Lyon vs Bayern Munich here: