COMMUNITY SHIELD

Arsenal vs Liverpool: how and where to watch - times, TV, online

All the information you need on how and where to watch Arsenal and Liverpool go head to head in the 2020 Community Shield.

Arsenal vs Liverpool: how and where to watch - times, TV, online
XXSTRINGERXX xxxxx Pool via REUTERS

The English football season begins with a chance of silverware for FA Cup winners Arsenal and Premier League champions Liverpool at Wembley Stadium.

Arsenal vs Liverpool: Community Shield preview

Arsenal put a chaotic season behind them with a good run of form after the restart to reach their first FA Cup final since the departure of Arsene Wenger. The Gunners have won the world’s oldest national football trophy more times than any other side and recorded their 14th FA Cup triumph over Chelsea just four weeks ago.

They face a Liverpool side who ran away with the league last season despite the pandemic disruption, securing a maiden Premier League title with seven games to spare. Jurgen Klopp’s men will be the team to beat this campaign and the Liverpool boss will be eager to start off their title defence on a positive note. Both Liverpool and Arsenal have won 15 of their 23 appearances in the Community Shield and the winner on Saturday will be behind only Manchester United (21 victories) in the all-time standings.

Differing fortunes for the forwards

Since Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang made his Arsenal debut in February 2018 he and Mohammed Salah have had near-identical scoring records, notching 70 and 68 goals respectively. But in games between Arsenal and Liverpool the Egyptian has enjoyed much more success. His brace in last season’s fixture made it six goals in seven games against the Gunners and he has also contributed two assists.

Aubameyang on the other hand is yet to score for Arsenal against Liverpool in four attempts, managing just 13 touches in 70 minutes during a particularly lacklustre 5-1 defeat in 2018. He did however score and assist at Anfield while playing for Borussia Dortmund in 2016 although Liverpool staged a late comeback to eliminate Klopp’s former club.

What time does Arsenal vs Liverpool kick off?

The Community Shield fixture between Arsenal and Liverpool will kick off at Wembley Stadium, London on Saturday 29 August 2020 at the local time of 16:30 (BST).

That's 17:30 in Spain, 11:30 in New York, 08:30 in Los Angeles and 01:30 (Sunday 30 August) in Australia.

How can I watch Arsenal vs Liverpool?

In Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Australia the following television channels and online services will be broadcasting Arsenal vs Liverpool:

Spain: DAZN

UK: BT Sport 1, BBC Radio 5 Live, BTSport.com, BT Sport App, BT Sport Extra, BT Sport Ultimate

USA: ESPN+

Australia: ESPN, Kayo Sports, WatchESPN Australia

If you’re elsewhere in the world you can find out who will be broadcasting Arsenal vs Liverpool here.