2020 AFC Champions League best XI declared

Based on the votes of the fans, the AFC announced the line-up of the 2020 AFC Champions League best XI.

2020 AFC Champions League best XI declared
Alex Pantling Getty Images

The votes of fans were pulled together to build a squad comprising the best players to have participated in the 2020 AFC Champions League following their magnificent showing during the tournament and their contribution to their teams' successful campaigns.

In goal is Persepolis shot-stopper Hamid lak, who also won the competition's best player award. He made eight appearances conceding four goals with three of them were from the penalty spot. He was also able to achieve five clean sheets during the campaign.

The squad defensive line was dominated by the runners-up Persepolis. Al Nassr's right back Sultan Al-Ghanam, who set up four goals and created 12 chances, was joined by Persepolis defenders Hossein Kanaanizadegan, Shoja' Khalilzadeh, and Saeid Aghaei.

The midfield included the names of Persepolis' Bashar Rasan, who scored a goal and created two, Yokohama Marinos Teruhito Nakagawa, who had four goals and four assists to his name, and Takuya Kida who achieved a passing accuracy percentage of 93.1%.

The best XI attacking line

According to the fans' votes, the team's frontline consisted of Persepolis' Mehdi Abdi Qara, who had earlier won the tournament's best goal award, and netted three decisive goals en route to the final.

The competition's top goalscorer, Ulsan Hyundai's Junior Negrao, was always going to be included in the tournament's XI, along with Al-Nassr's goal machine Abdurazzak Hamdullah.

Opta's choices for the 2020 ACL XI:

The famous stats website Opta has also picked their own 2020 ACL team, using the numbers behind the performances, which has some different faces to that selected by the fans.

Opta XI:

Goalkeeper: Brad Jones (AL-Nassr)

Defenders: Wang Gang (Beijing FC) - Yu Yang (Beijing FC)- Min Sang-gi (Suwon Samsung Bluewings)- Theerathon Bunmathan (Yokohama F. Marinos).

Midfielders: Yoon Bit-Garam (Ulsan Hyundai)- Teruhito Nakagawa (Yokohama F. Marinos)- Jonathan Viera (Beijing FC).

Forwards: Ado Onaiwu (Yokohama F. Marinos)-: Abderrazak Hamdallah (Al Nassr)- A Lan (Beijing FC).