Piqué confronts Gil Manzano, Modric ticks him off: "You've been waiting just to have a go at the ref"
The defender, who didn't play a single minute of the game, came onto the pitch at the end to protest to the referee about the amount of stoppage time added.
Gerard Piqué didn't play a minute of Saturday's Clásico but appeared in one of the images of the night. At the end of the match, the Barcelona centre-back walked onto the pitch and up to the centre-circle to protest that referee Jesús Gil Manzano had only added four minutes of stoppage time. "There were substitutes which would have added another minute on. I looked at him. Four minutes... it's unbelievable," Piqué complained. The referee booked the Barça defender, as he explained in his notes: "Gerard Piqué was booked for making observations of a technical nature both once the game was over and inside the players' tunnel".
💢😳 Encontronazo entre Modric y Piqué— Carrusel Deportivo (@carrusel) April 10, 2021
😡 Luka a Gerard Piqué: "Estás esperando para rajar ahora, eh..."
‼️ El croata se acaba yendo tras chocar la mano con el jugador del Barça
📸 @soccermemoriess pic.twitter.com/GCkHD1BMNc
However, for Eduardo Iturralde González, a former Spanish referee who gives technical advice to AS and Cadena SER, Piqué should have been shown a red card. Luka Modric also made it clear to Piqué that he had overstepped the mark when the two players shook hands after the game. Just as the Barcelona player began making his way towards Gil Manzano, Modric was seen to tell him, "You've been waiting to come over and have a go, eh..." as captured by Movistar cameras and deciphered by Carrusel Deportivo.
“He has to be sent off for that. The ref has to show him a yellow or a red card but he cannot allow a player to come on and start having a go at him. A ref can make mistakes in all kinds of ways but they should never lose their personality or tolerate attitudes that breach the rules," Iturralde González pointed out, who added that Gil Manzano made a mistake when he booked Piqué, because "the rulebook states that a player can be booked after a game, as long as they have not left the field of play, but once inside the players' tunnel, the referee does not have the authority to book a player. In a case like this, what he should have done is note it down in his match report, but not issue a booking". Iturralde explained that bookings need to be served in public and on the field of play.
Te recomendamos en English
- Child Tax Credit Child Tax Credit 2021: when is the deadline to opt out from August payment?
- US NEWS What public pools are open in summer 2021 in Los Angeles?
- OLYMPIC GAMES USA at Tokyo Olympics 2021 live updates: Ledecky going for gold, medal count, results, today 28 July
- OLYMPIC GAMES Why is Russia called ROC at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics?
- OLYMPIC GAMES | SWIMMING Ledecky aiming for two golds in a day with Titmus in the way
- REAL MADRID Official: Real Madrid defender Varane signs for Manchester United