CHAMPIONS LEAGUE

When are Champions League semi-finals played?

Chelsea and Real Madrid along with PSG and Manchester City make up the four teams taking part in the Champions League semi-finals 2020/2021.

When are Champions League semi-finals played?

The teams taking part in the semi-finals of the 2021 Champions League are now known, after tonight’s games. Liverpool hosted Real Madrid at Anfield but failed to claw their way back into the tie after losing the first leg 3-1, the second leg finishing 0-0.

Borussia Dortmund for their part went ahead against Manchester City but were unable to hold on at Signal Iduna Park. Pep Guardiola’s City made the most of their first leg 2-1 lead and won the second leg by the same margin to book their place in the semi-finals against PSG.

PSG and Chelsea were already through

We already knew who two of the semi-finalists will be this year. Paris-Saint Germain booked their place in the last four after eliminating Bayern Munich 3-3 on aggregate, going through on away goals despite losing last night’s return leg 0-1. Chelsea joined them and similarly lost the second leg against Porto by a solitary goal. They had already done enough after winning the first leg 2-0 in London.

PSG will face the winners of Quarter Final 1, Manchester City,  in the semi-finals. While Chelsea will meet the winners of Quarter Final 4, Real Madrid.

The semi-final first leg games will be played on Tuesday 27 April and Wednesday 28 April with kick-off at the usual time of 3pm EDT/12:00 PDT (21:00 CEST). The return legs will be played the following week on Tuesday 4 May and Wednesday 5 May at the same time.

2020/21 Champions League semi-final first leg

Tuesday 27 April

Real Madrid v Chelsea

Wednesday 28 April

PSG v Manchester City

2020/21 Champions League semi-final return leg

Tuesday 4 May

Manchester City v PSG

Wednesday 5 May

Chelsea v Real Madrid