Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many times have the Atlanta Braves and Houston Astros won the World Series?

The 2021 World Series is set to begin on Tuesday in Texas, with the Atlanta Braves and the Houston Astros slugging it out for the title.

ATLANTA, GEORGIA - OCTOBER 23: Members of the Atlanta Braves celebrate after defeating the Los Angeles Dodgers in Game Six of the National League Championship Series at Truist Park on October 23, 2021 in Atlanta, Georgia. The Braves defeated the Dodgers 4
Kevin C. CoxAFP

The Atlanta Braves will face the Houston Astros at Minute Maid Park in Texas on Tuesday night for the first game of the World Series. Which team has more championships tucked in its belt?

The Braves enjoyed a 4-2 win over the defending champion Los Angeles Dodgers on Saturday night, giving them a four-to-two score in the best-of-seven playoff of the National League East Division.

The Astros meanwhile prevailed over the Boston Red Sox five-zero in Game 6 of the American League Championship Series on Friday to secure their place in the World Series.

Astros looking to repeat their 2017 win

The Astros have only notched one World Series win, when they beat the Los Angeles Dodgers in seven games in their first championship in 2017. They returned to the World Series in 2019 but lost to the Washington Nationals in seven games. Friday’s win over Boston earned them their third American League pennant.

The Braves, who state that they are “the oldest continuously operating professional sports franchise in America”, have had more experience in the Major League Baseball championships.

Other MLB stories:

Braves seeking end to 26-year drought

Since they debuted in the National League in 1876, the team has won three World Series championships- first in 1914 as the Boston Braves, beating the Philadelphia Athletics in a four-game series; then in 1957 as the Milwaukee Braves defeating the defending champion New York Yankees in seven games; and finally in 1995 as the Atlanta Braves, prevailing over the Cleveland Indians in six outings. With that last win they became the first team to win the pennant in three different cities.

The Braves and the Astros will have their first encounter in the 2021 World Series on Tuesday, Oct. 26 at 8:09 p.m. ET at Minute Maid Park in Houston, Texas.