GAMING

PlayStation State of Play 27 October 2021: Times and how to watch and stream

Every few months Sony gives a look ahead at the next releases for the PS5 and PS4. October's event is expected to focus on new third-party games like Final Fantasy 16.

0
PlayStation State of Play 27 October 2021: Times and how to watch and stream

Every few months Sony hosts a State of Play online event to unveil the latest news and updates for their hugely popular PlayStation consoles. Whether it’s new hardware or exciting games releases, the State of Play is the best place to look for the latest developments.

The next event will be held on Wednesday, 27 October and will apparently be focused on upcoming third-party gaming releases for both the PS4 and PS5. IGN have suggested that we could see trailers and even potentially release dates for the likes of Final Fantasy XVI, Forspoken, and Strangers of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origins.

How and when to watch PlayStation State of Play

As always, the easier way to watch the State of Play online event will be by tuning in to the Sony and PlayStation online channels. You will be able to watch the whole thing live, free-of-charge, by heading over to PlayStation’s Twitch and YouTube channels.

Usually they also make the whole show available to watch on-demand after the event, so you will likely find a full video of the event on PlayStation’s channels afterwards.

If you’re planning to tune in live on Wednesday, 27 October 2021, here’s when it will be showing in your region:

  • West Coast: 2pm PDT
  • East Coast: 5pm EDT
  • UK: 10pm BST
  • Central Europe: 11pm CEST
  • Japan: 7am JST (28 October)

What to expect from October’s PlayStation State of Play

The big expectation for a lot of gaming fans is that we will get a better look at Final Fantasy 16, the long-awaited title from developer Square Enix. Last week online sleuths found that Sony has updated a series of pages on the official website related to the title.

Fans have been awaiting more concrete news on Final Fantasy 16 since it was first announced during a PS5 Showcase in 2020, and reports from the studio have suggested that the game is now approaching a release.

Also in the pipeline from Square Enix are Forspoken and Strangers of Paradise, both of which look likely to only be released on the PS5. We may get a look at some highly anticipated indie titles like Stray, Little Devil Inside, and Wytchood, although there has been no concrete information on those.