Braves and Astros finalize roster ahead of World Series Game 1

The Atlanta Braves and the Houston Astros have declared their roster ahead of Game 1 of the World Series which takes place on Tuesday evening.

Braves and Astros finalize roster ahead of World Series Game 1
Troy Taormina USA TODAY Sports

Game 1 of the 2021 World Series will take place on Tuesday evening at Minute Maid Park in Houston, and both teams are ready to go for the pennant.

The Atlanta Braves and the Houston Astros have finalized the roster of players whom they’re sending to the field. The teams have also submitted their starting lineups.

The Astros defeated the Boston Red Sox and got a chance to clinch their second World Series after their first victory in 2017, while the Braves pulled off a surprise win over the defending champion Los Angeles Dodgers and earned a shot to score their fourth championship and end a trophy drought that began in 1996.

Astros-Braves final roster Game 1

The Astros have added infielder Marwin Gonzalez to the roster and cut out outfielder Jake Meyers.

On the Atlanta side, pitcher Kyle Wright and outfielder Terrance Gore are in, while pitcher Jacob Webb and infielder Johan Camargo are out.

The Houston Astros are the favorites to emerge victorious, but the underdog Braves have also shown they are capable of pulling off convincing upsets.

Here are the final roster and starting lineups for Game 1:



77 Luis Garcia

93 Yimi Garcia

31 Kendall Graveman

21 Zack Greinke

53 Cristian Javier RP

88 Phil Maton RP

17 Jake Odorizzi SP

55 Ryan Pressly RP

58 Brooks Raley RP

45 Ryne Stanek RP

62 Blake Taylor SP

65 Jose Urquidy SP

59 Framber Valdez SP


18 Jason Castro C

15 Martin Maldonado C


27 Jose Altuve 2B

2 Alex Bregman 3B

1 Carlos Correa SS

16 Aledmys Diaz 2B

9 Marwin Gonzalez

10 Yuli Gurriel 1B


23 Michael Brantley LF

20 Chas McCormick CF

26 Jose Siri CF

30 Kyle Tucker RF


44 Yordan Alvarez DH



36 Ian Anderson

60 Jesse Chavez

54 Max Fried

77 Luke Jackson

74 Dylan Lee

55 Chris Martin

68 Tyler Matzek

33 A.J. Minter

50 Charlie Morton

51 Will Smith

18 Drew Smyly

19 Kyle Wright


24 William Contreras

16 Travis d'Arnaud


1 Ozzie Albies

9 Orlando Arcia

5 Freddie Freeman

27 Austin Riley

7 Dansby Swanson


23 Ehire Adrianza

14 Adam Duvall

11 Terrance Gore

38 Guillermo Heredia

22 Joc Pederson

8 Eddie Rosario

12 Jorge Soler

Houston Astros Batting Order

Jose Altuve (R) 2B

Michael Brantley (L) LF

Alex Bregman (R) 3B

Yordan Alvarez (L) DH

Carlos Correa (R) SS

Kyle Tucker (L) RF

Yuli Gurriel (R) 1B

Chas McCormick (R) CF

Martin Maldonado (R) C

Braves Batting Order

Jorge Soler (R) DH

Freddie Freeman (L) 1B

Ozzie Albies (S) 2B

Austin Riley (R) 3B

Eddie Rosario (L) LF

Adam Duvall (R) CF

Travis d’Arnaud (R) C

Joc Pederson (L) RF

Dansby Swanson (R) SS