NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Do all 50 U.S. states have an NFL team?

While there are 28 states in the U.S. without an NFL team, there are 22 states with their local NFL franchise, with some being home to multiple teams.

While there are 28 states in the U.S. without an NFL team and 22 states with their local NFL franchise, some of these states are home to multiple teams.
Kyle TeradaUSA TODAY Sports

The National Football League consists of 32 teams, divided between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC),

Those 32 teams are spread out in 22 different U.S. states, with some states like Texas and California being home to multiple teams, leaving over half of the American states without an in-state NFL Franchise to cheer for.

Which states do not have an NFL team?

There are 28 states without an NFL team, with 6 of these states actually represented by one team; Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont are all part of New England.

Even though the Patriots are based out of Boston, Massachusetts, they serve as regional teams for all these nearby states; in 1971 NFL owners decided the “Boston Patriots” would bring more fans if they had a more regional label, hence they called them the “New England” Patriots

See Also:

Below is a list of the remaining 22 states without NFL teams, in alphabetical order:

  • Alabama, Alaska and Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho and Iowa
  • Kansas and Kentucky (Kansas might not have a team, but the Chiefs bear their name and are close enough in distance: Missouri)
  • Mississippi and Montana
  • Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico and North Dakota
  • Oklahoma and Oregon
  • South Carolina and South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Virginia and West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Which states have multiple NFL teams?

Now that we’ve gone over the states that don’t have their local NFL teams representing, here are the states that are lucky enough to have more than one team in the area:

California: Los Angeles Rams, Los Angeles Chargers, San Francisco 49ers

Florida: Jacksonville Jaguars, Miami Dolphins, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Maryland: Baltimore Ravens and the Washington Football Team.

New York: Buffalo Bills, New York Giants, New York Jets

Ohio: Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns

Pennsylvania: Philadelphia Eagles and Pittsburgh Steelers

Texas: Dallas Cowboys and Houston Texans


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?