NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


The 2022 CONCACAF Champions League draw will take place in December

The Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean Football Association announced that the draw will be held on 15 December in Miami, Florida.

Estados UnidosUpdate:
The 2022 CONCACAF Champions League draw will take place in December

Monterrey defeated Club América in the final to win the 2021 CONCACAF Champions League campaign and this was the 16th in a row for a Liga MX club. Under the new format, no Major League Soccer side has been able to win this trophy and Los Angeles FC came close during the 2020 edition, but lost to Tigres UANL in the final.

CONCACAF announced draw details for the new campaign

With the conclusion of this year’s edition, CONCACAF announced that the draw for the 2022 Champions League will take place on 15 December in Miami, Florida. For next year’s tournament there will be five Major League Soccer clubs participating and three have secured their ticket.

The New England Revolution (Supporters’ Shield winner), Colorado Rapids (Western Conference regular-season winner) and Seattle Sounders (second-best MLS regular season record) have secured their spot for the 2022 CONCACAF Champions League tournament. This means that there are two spots left and several teams are still on the picture to qualify.

On Saturday, CF Montréal and Toronto FC will play in the final of the Canadian Championship and the winner will secure their ticket to the CCL. While the winner of the 2021 MLS Cup will get the fifth and final spot for next year’s tournament and that will be determined on 11 December.

Draw procedure

There will be four double-blind pots and the first two will contain spheres with the 16 participating clubs. Pots A and B will contain spheres with bracket positions for the Round of 16 and it is scheduled to start on 26 February.

Pot 1 (clubs ranked 1-8): CF Montreal or Toronto FC (CAN), Club Leon (MEX), Colorado Rapids (USA), Cruz Azul (MEX), New England Revolution (USA), Pumas UNAM (MEX), Seattle Sounders FC (USA) and the 2021 MLS Cup Champion.

Pot 2 (clubs ranked 9-16): Cavaly AS (HAI), CD Guastatoya (GUA), Club Santos Laguna (MEX), Comunicaciones FC (GUA), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), FC Motagua (HON), Hamilton Forge FC (CAN) and Santos de Guapiles (CRC).

Pot A: A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7 and A8

Pot B: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6, B7 and B8

The teams that will be participating next year

Canada: Hamilton Forge FC and CF Montréal or Toronto FC

Costa Rica: Deportivo Saprissa and Santos de Guapiles

Guatemala: Comunicaciones FC and CD Guastatoya

Haiti: Cavaly AS

Honduras: FC Motagua

Mexico: Club Leon, Club Santos Laguna, Cruz Azul and Pumas UNAM

USA: Colorado Rapids, New England Revolution, Seattle Sounders FC and the 2021 MLS Cup Champion


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?