NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Nominees revealed for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021

FIFA has announced the nominees for The Best FIFA football awards for 2021. The winners will be announced on 17 January 2022.

Nominees revealed for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are among an exceptional list of candidates including Robert Lewandowski, Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappé, competing to the win the Best 2021 FIFA awards.

The Best Men's players

Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus / Manchester United)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona / Paris Saint-Germain)

Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund)

Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea)

N'Golo Kanté (France / Chelsea)

Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)

Voting has begun

Two panels of experts - one for women's football and one for men's football - chose the candidates in each of the categories. Public voting has already been launched on and will close on 10 December.

In early January, FIFA will announce the three finalists in each of the seven categories. The candidates for the Puskás Award (awarded to the best goal of the year) will be announced at a later date.

Pep Guardiola and Diego Simeone are among the finalists in the coaching category, although they are not favourites. Roberto Mancini, who won the European Championship with Italy, and Thomas Tuchel, who won the Champions League, are likely to battle it out for the award.

Nominees for remaining categories

The Best Women's player:

Stina Blackstenius (Sweden / Häcken)

Aitana Bonmati (Spain / Barcelona)

Lucy Bronze (England / Manchester City)

Magdalena Eriksson (Sweden / Chelsea)

Caroline Graham-Hansen (Norway / Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark / Chelsea)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / Barcelona)

Ji So-yun (Republic of Korea / Chelsea)

Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal)

Ellen White (England / Manchester City)

Alexia Putellas (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Christine Sinclair (Canada / Portland Thorns)

The Best Women's Coach:

Lluís Cortés (Spain / Barcelona)

Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden / Sweden)

Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea)

Beverly Priestman (England / Canada)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Netherlands/England)

The Best Men's Coach:

Antonio Conte (Italy / Inter / Tottenham)

Hansi Flick (Germany / Bayern / Germany)

Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City)

Roberto Mancini (Italy / Italy)

Lionel Sebastián Scaloni (Argentina / Argentina)

Diego Simeone (Argentina / Atlético Madrid)

Thomas Tuchel (Germany / Chelsea)

The Best Women's Goalkeeper

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea)

Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain / Lyon)

Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (Canada / FC Rosengård / Paris Saint-Germain)

Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / Atlético Madrid)

Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

The Best Men's Goalkeeper

Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy / Milan / Paris Saint-Germain)

Édouard Mendy (Senegal / Chelsea)

Manuel Neuer (Germany / Bayern Munich)

Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark / Leicester City)


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?