NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Are banks and the post office open on Columbus day/Indigenous Peoples’ Day?

Most banks will be open on Monday 10 October, as many across the country opt to focus their honor on indigenous people, rather than celebrating Columbus.

A Native American protest against Columbus Day.
Alex WongGetty Images

Monday 10 October is a federal holiday in the United States.

Traditionally, the second Monday of October is celebrated as Columbus Day. However, in more recent years, a growing population has opted to shift focus to Indigenous people, the primary victims of European colonisation.

This year, President Biden became the first president to release a proclamation marking the holiday as Indigenous People’s Day. During the statement released, he called upon the population to “honor America’s first inhabitants and the Tribal Nations that continue to thrive today.” However, on the same day an additional proclamation to celebrate Columbus Day was also signed by the President, meaning that at the federal level, both celebrations are seen as legitimate.

What will be closed?

All federal offices will be closed as the date is one of eleven federal holidays, including the post office.

Additionally, Columbus Day is celebrated as a paid holiday in:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georiga
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

In these cases, all public offices will be closed with normal operations opening on Tuesday.

Banks and Businesses

Most banks do offer the date as a holiday to their employees. However, most ATMs should be open. However, most supermarkets and retailers will remain open as they do not offer the holiday to their employees. Historically, banks have opted to follow a federal holiday schedule as their operations are more closely linked to the government, and they rely more heavily on the Federal Reserve.

Which states have shifted from Colombus Day to Indigenous People’s Day?

Twelve states (Alaska, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Wisconsin, and Vermont) and the District of Columbia have remained the holiday since 1990.

South Dakota was the first state to has celebrated Native Americans’ Day since 1990. Oklahoma observes both holidays on the same day.