Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

TECHNOLOGY

How to disable NameDrop, the new iPhone iOS 17 feature that authorities warn about

The new iPhone iOS 17 boasts many features, but one of them could pose a security risk, especially for children’s phones. Here’s how to disable NameDrop,

Update:
The new iPhone iOS 17 boasts many features, but one of them could pose a security risk, especially for children’s phones. Here’s how to disable NameDrop,
THOMAS PETERREUTERS

If you’ve updated your iPhone’s software to iOS 17, the new “NameDrop” feature is set to “on” by default. Since it is activated automatically and many users may not be aware of how it works, authorities have warned that it can pose a security risk.

What is NameDrop?

The NameDrop feature is part of AirDrop, and allows users to quickly share contact information with a nearby iPhone or Apple Watch. The data shared can include the user’s name, phone number, address, photo, and email address.

Sharing is done by holding the display of your phone a few inches from the top of the other person’s iPhone or Apple Watch. Both parties should hold their devices close to each other until NameDrop appears on their screens.

You can share and receive contact details, or choose to only receive the other person’s.

You can cancel the transfer by moving the devices apart or locking your iPhone before the contact card has been completely transferred.

READ ALSO: How to prevent Google from deleting your account

Why are authorities issuing warnings about NameDrop?

The Oakland County Sheriff’s Office is one of the authorities in the country that have issued warnings about using NameDrop, saying that it makes it easier for unsavory characters to access your personal information.

According to the agency, the feature could pose a risk to people who are not fully aware of their phone’s features.

“We know that it allows you to share it and you can refuse but many people do not check their settings and realize how their phone works,” the office said on their Facebook Page.

READ ALSO: Study reveals which states affected most by low healthcare staffing levels

“This particular setting defaults to on rather than have you opt in. And again, it is the area where you also decide who can access AirDrop.”

The Sheriff’s Office also reminded parents to change these settings after the update on their children’s phones.

Despite these warnings, tech experts insist these fears are overblown and that the technology is safe to use, as phone owners still have control over whom they share their information with.

How to disable NameDrop

In case you want to err on the side of caution, it would just be simpler to disable the feature.

To do this, just follow the following steps: On your iPhone, go to “Settings”, choose “General”, then select “AirDrop”. When you see “Bringing Devices Together”, toggle the button to disable NameDrop.

Rules