NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


The 5 states that abolished the gas tax: here’s how it looks now

Last spring as gas prices spiked a handful of states imposed gas tax holidays, some have since extended them. Here’s a look at where they are in effect.

Some states still offering gas tax holiday
Scott OlsonGetty

Gas prices surged this past year as supply couldn’t meet demand. The pain at the pump was further exacerbated by when Vladimir Putin ordered troops to invade Ukraine causing the price per barrel to spike well over $100 as sanctions were impose on Russia.

To provide relief to drivers a handful of states implemented gas tax holidays and a pause on the national gas tax was called for but never materialized. The national average price of regular unleaded finally peaked at a little over five dollars a gallon in mid-June.

Since then, the price of fuel has been retreating as well have Russian troops. Though prices are still on average fifty cents above where they were a year ago according to AAA.

States that implemented a gas tax holiday

Six states have approved at least some form of gas tax holiday. While Maryland’s expired 18 April, currently, Connecticut, Georgia and New York have a pause on collecting tax on motor fuels. California only suspended a portion of the diesel sales tax which benefits truck drivers. Florida’s gas tax holiday is set to begin at the start of October.


Governor Ned Lamont signed a bipartisan bill 24 March which temporarily suspended the state’s excise tax on motor fuels for three months and was originally due to expire at the end of June. However, on 1 July the state extended the measure through 30 November 2022.


Governor Brian Kemp signed a Georgia General Assembly bill 18 March that temporarily paused state fuel taxes until 31 May. Since then, the pause has been extended on various occasions with the most recent keeping the measure in place until 12 October 2022.

New York

In April, New York lawmakers provided relief for drivers as part of the state budget. For a seven month period motor fuel taxes and sales tax per gallon on motor fuels were suspended, resulting in savings of sixteen cents per gallon for regular unleaded gasoline, 8-cent fuel tax and an 8-cent sales tax. The measure went into effect 1 June and runs through 31 December 2022. Other New York local governments also put in place gas tax holidays.


The Golden State has the highest taxes on motor fuels in the US which got even higher 1 July, but not for all. Although Governor Gavin Newsom, along with some Republican lawmakers, had called for a gas tax holiday, he had to settle for a compromise. Only truck drivers fueling in the state will get a break from the state’s sales tax on diesel for a year.

The state did approve a three-tier gas tax rebate for residents though which will begin to go out in October.


While the measure was approved by the Florida Legislature and signed by Governor Ron DeSantis in May the implementation of the gas tax holiday hasn’t yet gone into effect. Beginning 1 October, motorists in Florida will be able to take advantage of a month-long suspension of the Sunshine State’s gas tax.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?