In what order to watch the DC Extended Universe movies?

We take a look at the chronological and release order of the numerous DCEU films featuring characters such as Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and more.

Are you a fan of DC superheroes? Do you want to properly enjoy the cinematic universe created by Warner Bros. for characters like Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Flash and more? Don't miss our definitive guide on what order to follow in order not to miss anything of the so-called DC Extended Universe and its multiple adaptations, a plot of more or less connected films that began in 2013 with Zack Snyder's Man of Steel along with Henry Cavill's debut as Superman and that will soon culminate with The Flash, a film that aims to change the DCEU as we know it.

Chronological and premiere order of the DCEU

That is why we offer two lists of DC movies, one in chronological order if you want to follow the different plots according to their historical context, and another in order of release if you do not want to complicate yourself and prefer to enjoy the different DC adaptations as they came out in theaters. This universe has movies like Man of Steel, Batman v Superman, Justice League, and Wonder Woman.

Let's remember that not all DC movies are part of the DCEU; and is that both Joker with Joaquin Phoenix and the most recent The Batman are part of their own universes, so they are not included in this list. We also have the case of the Snyder Cut, the version of its original director that follows a different line to the version released in theaters.

DC Extended Universe in chronological order

  1. Wonder Woman
  2. Wonder Woman 1984
  3. Man of Steel
  4. Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice
  5. Suicide Squad
  6. Justice League
  7. Aquaman
  8. Shazam!
  9. Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn
  10. The Suicide Squad
  11. Peacemaker Season 1
  12. Black Adam

DC Extended Universe by release order

  1. Man of Steel (2013)
  2. Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016)
  3. Suicide Squad (2016)
  4. Wonder Woman (2017)
  5. Justice League (2017)
  6. Aquaman (2018)
  7. Doom Patrol Season 1 (2019)
  8. Shazam! (2019)
  9. Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn (2020)
  10. Wonder Woman 1984 (2020)
  11. The Suicide Squad (2021)
  12. Peacemaker Season 1 (2022)
  13. Black Adam (2022)

DCEU confirmed upcoming releases

  • Shazam! Fury of the Gods: March 17, 2022
  • The Flash: June 23, 2023
  • Blue Beetle (HBO Max): August 18, 2023
  • Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom: December 25, 2023
  • Gotham Knights: 2023
  • Man of Steel 2: without a release date
  • Wonder Woman 3: without a release date
  • Green Lantern (series): without a release date
  • The Flash 2: without a release date
  • Black Canary (HBO Max): without a release date
  • Justice League Dark (series): without a release date
  • Peacemaker Season 2 (series): without a release date
  • Madame X (series): without a release date
  • Zatanna (HBO Max): canceled
  • Constantine (series): canceled

Remember that you can check our DC Universe and DC Extended Universe release schedule for 2022 and 2023 with all the announced movies and series.