NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many no-hit wins have there been in MLB?

The Pittsburgh Pirates became the sixth team in MLB history to win a game despite being no-hit.

Pirates make MLB history in no-hit win over Reds
Justin BerlAFP

The Pittsburgh Pirates found their way into the MLB record books on Sunday against the Cincinnati Reds by winning the game 1-0 without recording a single hit. In what was a largely forgettable afternoon for the fans inside Pittsburgh’s PNC Park, the Reds conspired to lose the game despite landing an eight-inning no-hitter.

Hunter Greene and Art Warren combined to keep the Pirates to no hits but it will not go down as an official no-hitter under MLB rules as the two Reds pitchers did not go nine innings (although it does count as an eight-inning no-hitter). To compound a miserable afternoon for Cincinnati, who are enduring a woeful season, a fielding error also allowed Pittsburgh to sneak a run in the eighth inning.

With the bases loaded, third baseman Ke’Bryan Hayes skimmed a grounder to second and beat Alejo López’s double play attempt to run in the only score of the game.

Pirates join MLB no-hit win list

The result meant that the Pirates became only the sixth team in MLB history to be no-hit and yet win the game. The last time it happened was in 2008, when the LA Dodgers beat the LA Angels despite Halos pitchers Jered Weaver and José Arredondo throwing a no-hitter.

In total, 316 teams have officially been no-hit in MLB history, making it a rare but not unusual occurrence. There had been two no-hitters in the MLB already this season, Reid Detmers throwing an individual no-no for the Angels a few days ago against the Rays, and Mets pitchers Tylor Megill, Drew Smith, Joely Rodriguez, Seth Lugo and Edwin Díaz combining to shut out the Phillies.

The first time a team was no-hit and still won the game did not occur until 1964, when Ken Johnson of the Houston Colt .45s suffered a similar fate to Greene and Warren when one of his infielder was unable to make an out to keep the scoreboard at zero.

MLB no-hit wins

  • Ken Johnson: Houston Colt .45s, 23 April 1964 vs Cincinnati Reds
  • Steve Barber, Stu Miller: Baltimore Orioles, 30 April 1967 vs Detroit Tigers
  • Andy Hawkins: New York Yankees, 1 July 1990 vs Chicago White Sox
  • Matt Young: Boston Red Sox, 12 April 1992 vs Cleveland Indians
  • Jered Waver, José Arredondo: Los Angeles Angels, 28 June 2008 vs Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Hunter Greene, Art Warren: Cincinnati Reds, 15 May 2022 vs Pittsburgh Pirates

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?