NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who won the 2022 Little League World Series?

International champions Curaçao unable to stop dominant American champions Hawai’i in Little League World Series final

International champions Curaçao unable to stop dominant American champions Hawai’i in Little League World Series final
Evan HabeebUSA TODAY Sports

The United States came into this competition dead even in the all-time winners list with all other international teams at 37 Little League World Series titles apiece. With Hawai’i’s victory, the US is now over .500 in the history books.

The Honolulu Little League team has had one of the most dominant runs in the history of the Little League World Series, sweeping aside all competition and outscoring them collectively 60-5. When they faced the Pabao Little League from Willemstad, Curaçao, Hawai’i managed to get the win via the ten-run rule, stopping the Caribbean champions 13-3 in the fourth inning. This is the fourth win via the ten-run rule in the six games that the Honolulu Little League team have played in the World Series.

Curaçao has played five must-win games since losing their second game to Panama and have played near-perfect baseball in a series of close games, winning by one run against Italy, Mexico, and Taiwan. In the final, however, they could not seem to find the strike zone, hitting or walking batters against a Hawai’i team that is too strong offensively to have that happen.

This is the fourth Little League World Series title for a team from Hawai’i, and the second title for this particular Little League within the last four competitions. Kama Angell was one of Hawai’i’s biggest producers, going 4 for 4 and knocking a home run in the final.

For Curaçao, there was a concerning moment when pitcher Qshondrickson Doran went down on the mound, holding his elbow. He was taken out of the game and attended to, but thankfully word came back later in the game that it was not a serious injury.

With Hawai’i up 12-1 at the end of three, Curaçao showed some spirit, knocking in two runs in the fourth to stay alive, but ultimately the offensive prowess of Honolulu was just too much to keep contained.

This is now the 38th victory by a United States team in the 75-year history of the tournament, with 37 titles being taken by international teams.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?