NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

NBA

The Lakers are willing to trade first-round picks for Kyrie Irving

According to a new report, the Lakers are willing to trade their two first-round picks for Kyrie Irving

Update:
Kyrie Expecting the ;lakers trade for him
Icon SportswireIcon Sportswire via Getty Images

At the height of the frenzy surrounding Kyrie Irving a few weeks ago, it was reported that the Los Angeles Lakers weren’t willing to go all-in with an offer centered around two first-round picks in order to acquire the Nets player. Nevertheless, according to a recent report, the Los Angeles Lakers have changed their mind and are willing to go all-in for the point guard.

Highlighting a piece of recent information, the Lakers are now ready to offer two first-round picks in exchange for Kyrie. Of course, this does not necessarily suggest that a transaction is going to take place in the near future. The Brooklyn Nets also need to be willing to take on the contract of Russell Westbrook in order to proceed.

If this doesn’t materialize, it will not matter the number of first-round picks the Lakers are willing to provide–unless they can find a third team ready to help them in this situation.

A desperate LA team

In either case, what we might be able to detect emanating from the Los Angeles Lakers is a sense of desperation.  The team seems it’s starting to get serious now that there are less than two months left until the start of training camps for the various clubs.

Even though they have said nothing but positive things about Russell Westbrook, it doesn’t appear easy to imagine them reporting to training camp with Russ still on the team.

The ideal situation for the Laker is to trade him while also acquiring a significant upgrade simultaneously.

Moreover, it appears improbable that Kyrie Irving would be traded until Kevin Durant is moved first. Or if Durant is affected in any way. The Nets will need to be sure they can cover both stars’ exit

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?