NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


College World Series: Which school has the most NCAA baseball national championships in history?

The 2023 College World Series is down to two teams. We’ve seen former champions fall, first-timers axed, and those who were close but got no cigar.

Then there were two. The 2023 College World Series gave us what we wanted: Former champions, first-timers, and those who had been close but got no cigar.
Dylan WidgerUSA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

The college baseball season has now come down to the final two teams: The LSU Tigers and the Florida Gators and with that, the Omaha classic promises to be one of the best we’ve seen in quite some time. Of course, the Tigers have been here many times before, as they are in fact among the teams with the most titles in history.

The Gators, on the other hand, could be considered a team that’s getting accustomed to winning. This will be their first appearance since 2017 but keep in mind, they won the whole thing that year in what was their third appearance. At any rate, let’s take a look at who else has etched their name onto the trophy.

Most College World Series wins

The USC Trojans haven’t held the trophy since 1998, and even then, it had been a twenty-year gap since the previous time that they had held it. But thanks in no small part to the dynasty created in the 1970s by legendary coach Rod Dedeaux, the Trojans stand head and shoulders above all other college baseball programs when it comes to College World Series wins.

Southern Cal have claimed 12 College World Series titles, including a record five straight from 1970-74. No other team in CWS history has won more than two consecutive. Dedeaux took only a symbolic $1 salary from the University and turned down many opportunities to coach in the Major Leagues. He was named Coach of the Century by Baseball America and Collegiate Baseball, and was the skipper who developed more than 200 pro players and 59 major leaguers, including such top stars as Tom Seaver, Mark McGwire, Randy Johnson, Fred Lynn, Dave Kingman, Roy Smalley, Don Buford, Ron Fairly, Rich Dauer, Steve Busby, Jim Barr and Steve Kemp.

After USC, the next in line is obviously LSU, which has claimed six titles in its history. LSU’s run under the legendary Skip Bertman through the 1990′s made them the team to beat for a decade. Given that they are currently tied for second with Texas, this year’s World Series offers an opportunity for the team to claim the No. 2 spot for itself, though we imagine the Gators will have something to say about that.

Most National Championships

USC121948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1978, 1998
LSU61991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009
Texas61949, 1950, 1975, 1983, 2002, 2005
Arizona State51965, 1967, 1969, 1977, 1981
Arizona41976, 1980, 1986, 2012
Cal State Fullerton41979, 1984, 1995, 2004
Miami41982, 1985, 1999, 2001
Minnesota31956, 1960, 1964
Oregon State32006, 2007, 2018
Vanderbilt22014, 2019
South Carolina22010, 2011
Stanford21987, 1988
Oklahoma21951, 1994
Michigan21953, 1962
California21947, 1957

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?