NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


College World Series: Which school has the most NCAA baseball national championships in history?

The 2022 College World Series offers us a raft of new faces, teams who have won before, and those who are the perennial bridesmaid, but never the bride

The 2022 College World Series offers us a raft of new faces, teams who have won before, and those who are the perennial bridesmaid, but never the bride
Bob LeveyAFP

With the college baseball season down to the final eight teams, the Omaha classic is getting underway shortly with Texas A&M taking on the Oklahoma Sooners, and later today the Texas Longhorns taking on the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

Only one of the eight remaining teams will be crowned national champions, and with so many upsets on the road to get here, we are left with only three of the eight who have ever won it before.

Only Oklahoma, Texas, and Stanford have ever held the brass ring in their hands, while Arkansas, Notre Dame, Ole Miss, and Texas A&M will all be looking for their first ever title.

Let’s take a look at the schools that have won the most Men’s College World Series titles in NCAA history.

Most College World Series wins

The USC Trojans haven’t held the trophy since 1998, and even then, it had been a twenty-year gap since the previous time that they had held it. But thanks in no small part to the dynasty created in the 1970s by legendary coach Rod Dedeaux, the Trojans stand head and shoulders above all other college baseball programs when it comes to College World Series wins.

Southern Cal have claimed 12 College World Series titles, including a record five straight from 1970-74. No other team in CWS history has won more than two consecutive. Dedeaux took only a symbolic $1 salary from the University and turned down many opportunities to coach in the Major Leagues. He was named Coach of the Century by Baseball America and Collegiate Baseball, and was the skipper who developed more than 200 pro players and 59 major leaguers, including such top stars as Tom Seaver, Mark McGwire, Randy Johnson, Fred Lynn, Dave Kingman, Roy Smalley, Don Buford, Ron Fairly, Rich Dauer, Steve Busby, Jim Barr and Steve Kemp.

The teams who come closest to USC’s stellar record are LSU and Texas, who each have claimed six titles in their history. LSU’s run under the legendary Skip Bertman through the 1990′s made them the team to beat for a decade, with Texas having their greatest success in the early 2000′s with the acquisition of another legendary coach in Augie Garrido.

Most National Championships

USC12 1948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1978, 1998
LSU 6 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009
Texas 6 1949, 1950, 1975, 1983, 2002, 2005
Arizona State 5 1965, 1967, 1969, 1977, 1981
Arizona 4 1976, 1980, 1986, 2012
Cal State Fullerton 4 1979, 1984, 1995, 2004
Miami 4 1982, 1985, 1999, 2001
Minnesota 3 1956, 1960, 1964
Oregon State 3 2006, 2007, 2018
Vanderbilt 2 2014, 2019
South Carolina 2 2010, 2011
Stanford 2 1987, 1988
Oklahoma 2 1951, 1994
Michigan 21953, 1962
California 2 1947, 1957

All teams remaining in the 2022 College World Series have won either no titles or multiple titles. Texas stands to gain second place all-time with a win this year, moving them above LSU with seven wins. Stanford and Oklahoma have two each and either one of these programs would move into joint fifth place with a championship win this year.

None of the other teams in the remaining field have won a title, but all have reached the series multiple times. Arkansas has made the most College World Series appearances without winning a title, with 10 coming into this year. 2022 is the sixth appearance by Texas A&M without winning a title and Ole Miss is a five-time competitor without winning.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?